After over a year of historic restoration, the Sculptor’s Studio is now open. The restored studio is now open daily from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. during the summer. Enhancements to the studio include a new Mount Rushmore Bookstore, access to the buildings, accessible public restrooms, and an elevator.
In 1939, this structure was built as a second on-site studio for sculptor Gutzon Borglum. Unique plaster models and worker tools related to the sculpting processes are displayed in this studio. Special programs including a short studio talk on the mountain carving process and exhibits explaining Gutzon Borglum’s vision make this a must-see while visiting the park.
Sculptor’s Studio in 1956